You are here
Home > 2016/17 > Kane to be first Blackhawk in 48 years to win Art Ross

Kane to be first Blackhawk in 48 years to win Art Ross

Patrick Kane has been spectacular this season. He may, in fact, end up being the first Blackhawk in 48 years to win the Art Ross Trophy. Jamie Benn is second to Kane, 17 points behind. He is on pace for a 109 point season, definitely a great year for the All-Star American.

Art Ross Trophy

art ross trophy

“The Art Ross Trophy is an annual award given to the player who leads the National Hockey League in scoring points at the end of the regular season. If two players finish the season with the same number of points, the trophy is awarded in the following manner: 1. Player with most goals; 2. Player with fewer games played; 3. Player scoring first goal of the season.” –

1. RW Patrick Kane (Chicago Blackhawks) 66 GP, 37 G, 51 A, 88PTS

Mandatory Credit: Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

The only way Kane doesn’t win the Art Ross is if he gets injured, and he still could possibly win if he does. Kane alongside his counterpart Artemi Panarin, have taken the league by storm and Kane is the front runner of it all. With a 17 point gap between him and the next highest point leader in Jamie Benn, he’s almost guaranteed to win his first ever Art Ross trophy. If Kane wins, he will be the first Blackhawk in 48 years to win the Art Ross.

2. LW Jamie Benn (Dallas Stars) 66 GP, 32 G, 39 A, 71 PTS


Not much of a point in listing anyone else but you never know what could happen. Coming into this season as the defending Art Ross winner, Benn is continuing to show he is the games best current power forward. With 71 points in 66 games this year, Benn is on pace for 88 points, which would be a new career high. However, with Kane already at 88 points, the odds aren’t necessarily in Benn’s favor.

3. C Tyler Seguin (Dallas Stars) 66 GP, 32 G, 36 A, 68 PTS

NHL: MAR 07 Stars at Lightning


I think the race between Benn and Seguin isn’t for 1st in the league but more for first on the Stars. In all seriousness though, it’s quite amazing to see the chemistry that’s developed between Jamie Benn and Tyler Seguin. Had Seguin not missed 11 games last year, he may have passed Benn in points and won the Art Ross for himself. None the less, Seguin and Benn lead a strong Dallas team into this years Stanley Cup Playoffs.

%d bloggers like this: